Mulch Garden Diary – general musing

Although I started late, my plants and seedlings are making good progress. When I have a free moment (mwuuahahaha! That’s rich!) I de-stress by wandering barefoot in my garden, pulling the odd weed or determining if it might be edible and should I let it get larger. I enjoy the sound and feel of the gentle crunching of the layer of dry hay/straw on top, and I can also do this after a rain and there is no mud. Last fall I got a large load of old/rotten hay and laid it down thickly, then left it alone, and that was pretty much the sum of my hard work. There is still enough left, plus 2 bales I left in place for such a time as this (filling in any thinner spots).

The soil underneath is moist and friable although this year has vacillated between unseasonably hot, then cool, then dumping buckets. The worms are happily eating my mulch and enriching my soil. Slugs and snails infest the neighborhood and, yes, my rather shady garden is yet another one they like to visit. I used to bait with beer, but I find that slug bait sprinkled around the base of at-risk plants and along the edge of the garden where they come from keeps them in check easily. Chickens would be helpful, but that’s not currently possible.

A HUMOROUS OBSERVATION: In my personal experience, it seems that it is women who are most inclined to try mulch gardening (me; a friend; and Ruth Stout, who is my mulch hero and model, etc.) and men seem to want to: till, weed, swear, weed, plastic mulch, weed, , swear, spray, weed, and so on. Not all, mind you, but many. I believe it is because God told Adam “Cursed is the ground because of you; in toil you shall eat of it all the days of your life. Both thorns and thistles it shall grow for you, and you shall eat the plants of the field; by the sweat of your face you shall eat bread, until you return to the ground…” Well, God said that to Adam, not Eve, so we don’t feel it necessary to do it the hard way if we can find an easier one (is not the pain of childbirth enough?).

My male gardening neighbors, my husband, and my friend’s husband all pooh-poohed the idea and often asked me when I was going to “till it under” (Answer: “Never.”), but I must tell you, I HAVE BEEN DOING THIS FOR FIFTEEN YEARS and the ONLY time I have had to battle weeds is the year I didn‘t get my mulch, and my plants are healthy and huge, bugs and disease are rarely serious problems, and I never spray or fertilize.  If God made a covering for them then I shall cover the ground. No naked earth!

Have any thoughts?

Member of The Internet Defense League

Blog Stats

  • 33,963 visits
MaverickOnTheMove

The Travel Blog

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

The Gospel Masquerade

“I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; that his justice cannot sleep forever.” Thomas Jefferson

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Greek Myth Comix

Explaining the Greek myths, one comic at a time

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Here's The Right Side Of It

American Conservative Blog/Opinion/News

Ray Comfort's Daily Evidence

Snippets from The Evidence Bible--now in NKJV

The Counter Jihad Report

News ~ Resources ~ Activism

M.C. Tuggle, Writer

A site dedicated to writing meaningful fiction

learningcubed

The home of Maths, English and Science!

Words on Empty Ears

Understanding someone’s way with words isn’t as simple as you think.

Nothing Too Trivial

Interesting Things for Interested People

Christian Way

Former Christian Scientists for Jesus Christ

Invisible Mikey

philosophic topics and the arts

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

James Bishop's Theological Rationalism

Where Reason and Evidence Meet Faith.

Global Sermon Editing Project

Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758)

sharia unveiled

illuminating minds

John Taylor Gatto

The Underground History of American Education

Thriving In The 21st Century

Preparing Our Children for the New Economic Reality

Neurochemically Challenged

Coping with severe mental illness through introspection, creativity, documentation, imagery, poetry, prose and verse

