Genealogy and motivation for family connection

In a way, the declining health of my parents and my husband’s parents has had a beneficial effect because it has motivated me to sit down and enter family information that has been accumulating and languishing for years in folders and envelopes.

Yes, it would have been better to do it before, but everyday family demands, homeschooling, and my freelance job were more than enough. Now that the children are older and more self-directed in their work I have started using this “spare” time to enter what I have; I want to be able to quickly send it off for feedback, further information, or whatever I can learn.

We plan to visit my in-laws soon and I wish to be able to give the gift of a collection of what I have so far. Because of the geographic distance between us, I cannot be as involved in his family as the others; I am also not the best daughter-in-law in the family and I hope to do something to give something truly valuable back to the family who has given me such a wonderful man. This should spark conversation and help me fill in even more blanks, giving me the chance to make their history even more complete.

I use Personal Ancestral File ( http://www.familysearch.org/eng/paf/); it’s free, it’s well-designed and very detailed, and the Mormons won’t come knocking on your door or add you to any email list – they ask for your email as a part of the registration/support setup, which is nice since I recently was having an odd problem which turned out to be with my scanner, not the software.

When I began over 10 years ago, I was keeping all handwritten records on proper forms, but it was a headache to keep up with the corrections and the relationships and entering them into the program was a sanity-saver!

I have offered to teach a class to our homeschool support group as history/elective, but even if they don’t need that kind of class I am enjoying the challenge – I just have to remember to take breaks because it can become all-consuming. It’s just so interesting to see where people came from and where they went and what they did!

Family history gives you a greater appreciation of the value of marriage and family and makes history more real because your family was part of it; it gives you a broader perspective on the history of our country, too. Sadly, history is something our schools either don’t teach (it’s not even tested on in standardized tests!), or is taught in such a distorted or abysmally boring way that we grow up thinking it’s irrelevant or something other that it was, and we become those people you see on Jay Walking who can’t even answer basic historical information and look like idiots. Happily, I have learned so much history this way – I just wish I had known it before.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. notsofancynancy
    May 08, 2012 @ 13:46:55

    I sure wish I would have asked questions before my parents passed. My sister has a house fire in 2001 and lost all of our geology stuff. I waited for her to try to recover files and when that did not happen I have been on a journey to recover most of the information. Thankfully our pictures were not there! I have scanned over 2,000 picts along with my fathers WWII pictures. It has been quite a journey. Sounds like you have a great start!

    Reply

    • Lloyd's of Rochester
      May 08, 2012 @ 23:21:51

      So many of us regret not talking to family members when we still had them with us. We also don’t often think of the chance that we could lose our genealogy stuff in a disaster, so I am glad you are scanning in pictures. You can also start a free dropbox (dropbox.com) account where you can upload up to 2 G of information and be able to access or share it from other computers. Also, any work you do to your files on your computer get updated on dropbox so you don’t have to worry about losing your information if your computer crashes. I have uploaded my pictures and my genealogy database for safekeeping because I tend to work between different computers and hate carrying everything back and forth on a flash drive.

      Reply

Have any thoughts?

Member of The Internet Defense League

Blog Stats

  • 33,971 visits
MaverickOnTheMove

The Travel Blog

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

The Gospel Masquerade

“I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; that his justice cannot sleep forever.” Thomas Jefferson

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Greek Myth Comix

Explaining the Greek myths, one comic at a time

The Seeds 4 Life

Seeds of Inspiration, Wisdom, and Positivity

Here's The Right Side Of It

American Conservative Blog/Opinion/News

Ray Comfort's Daily Evidence

Snippets from The Evidence Bible--now in NKJV

The Counter Jihad Report

News ~ Resources ~ Activism

M.C. Tuggle, Writer

A site dedicated to writing meaningful fiction

learningcubed

The home of Maths, English and Science!

Words on Empty Ears

Understanding someone’s way with words isn’t as simple as you think.

Nothing Too Trivial

Interesting Things for Interested People

Christian Way

Former Christian Scientists for Jesus Christ

Invisible Mikey

philosophic topics and the arts

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

James Bishop's Theological Rationalism

Where Reason and Evidence Meet Faith.

Global Sermon Editing Project

Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758)

sharia unveiled

illuminating minds

John Taylor Gatto

The Underground History of American Education

Thriving In The 21st Century

Preparing Our Children for the New Economic Reality

Neurochemically Challenged

Coping with severe mental illness through introspection, creativity, documentation, imagery, poetry, prose and verse

